Home Stamps Forum
Options

Hyello

Hyello,

Im a coin collector. I started late in life. Im 35. Im a painting contractor. Last year I did work for an older gentleman. He had a lot of cool antiques in his house. (I buy and sell antique furniture once in a while.) He also had some wheat pennies he wanted to sell and a stamp collection. Knowing nothing about stamps I bought his collection for 800.00. Not a money issue at the time. He said he was offered 500.00 for the stamp collection in the mid 70s but didnt sell it. So, either he was lying or I figure based on inflation I paid about what it should be worth.
At this point I would like to either sell the collection, as this will be a huge undertaking to re-organize or rebuild it and have the better stamps
graded. Problem is, collection is in 4 books,unorganized, and contains about 40 manilla envelopes with stamps I know nothing about. Misc sheets, some not complete and a lot of foreign. Where to start?
Collecting cleaned, scratched, scraped, AT and ugly POS coins for over 2 years now!

Comments

• Options
    I would check the PSE link at the top of the page for ballpark figures on some of the US stamps that obviouly look old. I would seperate the foreign stamps from the US stamps. What do you have a lot of? Do you have any soveiner sheets? I would be interested in those as well as any Russian stamps before the Iron Curtain fell. PM me if you do.
  • Options
    dougwtxdougwtx Posts: 566 ✭✭