Home World & Ancient Coins Forum

Dipping experiment - help wanted

Dear all

I have to admit I am new to the whole coin dipping thing but I have a 1927 proof crown that looks like it needs a dip as it has previously been in a PVC holder. I also admit that I am a little nervous about just dipping this coin without trying the process out first. So I appeal to the darkside crowd - if anyone has anything I could practice on I would be more than grateful. I will either pay market value or return the coin to you post dip. The greener the better please.

Dr J

Comments

• Steve27Steve27 Posts: 13,274 ✭✭✭
    DON'T dip it, use acetone (it's as safe as water for coins).
    "It's far easier to fight for principles, than to live up to them." Adlai Stevenson

• << <i>DON'T dip it, use acetone (it's as safe as water for coins). >>

Ohh sorry when I said dip I meant acetone. I already a bottle of acetone ready I just wanted to test out the process in terms of how much time to bathe the coin and then what to do after the acetone. I planned to just let the acetone evaporate and leave it at that.

Dr J
  • SpinynormanSpinynorman Posts: 603 ✭✭
    If you're just looking to remove green PVC residue, then acetone is the way to go. If the PVC has caused the mirrored surfaces to haze, then "dipping" may help after you've removed the PVC. I've had pretty good luck removing haze from proofs by long term soaking in mineral oil and then dipping. Rinse, repeat as needed if it is still making any difference.
    imageimageimage

<< <i>

<< <i>DON'T dip it, use acetone (it's as safe as water for coins). >>

Ohh sorry when I said dip I meant acetone. I already a bottle of acetone ready I just wanted to test out the process in terms of how much time to bathe the coin and then what to do after the acetone. I planned to just let the acetone evaporate and leave it at that.

Dr J >>