Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Risky investment?

Has anyone else seen this '59 Bazooka set that just sold on eBay? Admittedly, it's a great looking and RARE set, but if PSA's standards are to be taken seriously, of grading hand-cut cards, needing to have FULL BORDERS, there's not a ONE of them here that would qualify! Is it really worth the price this guy paid? I don't know how to do the "link" thing, but here's the full web addr from the eBay auction:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=8771469758&rd=1&sspagename=STRK:MEWA:IT&rd=1

Comments

• Options
    Link

Steve

to add a link when you open the Message Text Box there is a bunch of buttons below where it says Message Text click the 1st button that is marked http and paste the url in the box that appears instead of into the main message box.
  • Options
    I have zero knowledge about that set.
    Running an Ebay store sure takes a lot more time than a person would think!
  • Options
    mikeschmidtmikeschmidt Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭
    It is an exceedingly tough set - independent of PSA grading. Finding a high-grade, nice set of Bazooka cards is worth thousands. The seller also has often provided access to some really neat items. With a '59 Bazooka set, you can't just go out and buy one, as they are very rarely found.

I've seen examples from this set, with tabs, cut inside the lines, sell for hundreds of dollars with creases. Levi has an SGC 7 Ernie Banks for $1,250. ScP once had an SGC 88 Mantle for $5k. In December '04, a PSA 'Authentic' Mantle sold for $900

For 23 cards, $11,500 doesn't seem to be too bad, especially when you consider some of the star cards in the set. What do YOU think the set is worth, if you think $11,500 is way too high...?

I am actively buying MIKE SCHMIDT gem mint baseball cards. Also looking for any 19th century cabinets of Philadephia Nationals. Please PM with additional details.
  • Options