Home Metal Detecting

I am a beginner at metal detecting...or soon to be.

I am going to Gulf Shores early next fall and was wanting to know what type metal detector would be the best for wet sandy beaches and also dry land...Is the detecting in that area good ?

Comments

• lordmarcovanlordmarcovan Posts: 43,194 ✭✭✭✭✭
    You talkin' 'bout Alabama? I imagine the area could be good. Where's SilverDreams when you need him?

As to a good beach hunting machine, well... it depends on what you wanna spend. I used to use a Fisher 1280-X Aquanaut, which was a diver's machine. Worked great on the beach, though I seldom used it in the water. Found my oldest coin with it on dry land, too.

You'll ideally get either a machine that's made for the surf and beach, like that, or get one that has a "salt sand" setting.

However, most general-purpose detectors can be used on the beach with a little tinkering and practice- you'll have to adjust the sensitivity way down. It's tricky, sometimes. But you should be able to move your sensitivity setting down low enough to where the machine won't go bananas in the wet sand, and can still find stuff.

Minelab makes some nice beach/surf detectors. They ain't cheap, though.

But a few nice rings and pieces of jewelry can pay for a detector pretty quick.

Explore collections of lordmarcovan on CollecOnline, management, safe-keeping, sharing and valuation solution for art piece and collectibles.