Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

Is Ebay turning into a wholesale market?

I've been tracking Ebay prices on a number of items for several months now, and also just generally paying attention to prices realized on several items that I own. It's been interesting how prices paid seem to have declined, in some cases by significant amounts. What I've found is that except for the highest end material - PSA 9 quality - across the board selling prices are down and in many cases close to "wholesale" prices - assuming that retail is somewhere within 90% of SMR or higher. Even some PSA 8 material I have seen sell for less than 70% of SMR. There are some cards out there that are selling for SMR or even exceeding SMR, but they seem to be isolated circumstances.

If this is part of a broader trend, it could spell bad news in the short term for dealers and also for collectors who sell on Ebay. For buyers obviously it is great, although the concept of "bargain" may be overstated. If a card consistently sells for 65% of SMR, chances are that's the market price, which does not make it a "bargain". Long term this could be bad for collectors, if dealers react by selling less on Ebay and putting more material into their Ebay stores marked up to retail prices.

Would love to hear others' thoughts on this.

Stay Classy,

Ron
Ron Burgundy

Buying Vintage, all sports.
Buying Woody Hayes, Les Horvath, Vic Janowicz, and Jesse Owens autographed items

Comments

• yankeeno7yankeeno7 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭
    Though I think that is bound to happen, I think 8's in the 60s and 70s have been quite strong. Or maybe it is stronger than I would like image
    But there are tons of great buys out there. I recently got a 1957 PSA 5 (ok so its not 'investment' material) Duke Snider....I won it for just over 17 bucks including shipping! And the card has no creases and overall a pretty darn good looking card! It's crazy! Crazy I tell ya! But I'll buy cards like that all day long if I could.