Home U.S. Coin Forum

how big a joke is star grading service (SGS)?

I know they are what is considered 4th tier, but are they, on average, 3, 4 ,5 or more grades above what PCGS would grade on the same coin? Probably a hard question to answer, but I am curious as I have no experience with crossovers from SGS to PCGS.

My Registry Sets! PCGS Registry

Comments

• Forget them
  • I think they are a pretty big joke. I just ignore the label.
  • HTubbsHTubbs Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭
    RUN!:image
  • consider the coin to be preserved in plastic until you get it home - then put it in a vice and CRACK IT, that plastic is only good for shipping- the 'grade' they give is worthless than what you think.
  • TomBTomB Posts: 21,023 ✭✭✭✭✭
    This may be terrible to write, but I would worry that the coin were a problem coin and that is the reason it is in an SGS holder. I know that isn't fair, but that is my opinion.
    Thomas Bush Numismatics & Numismatic Photography

In honor of the memory of Cpl. Michael E. Thompson

• slipgateslipgate Posts: 2,301 ✭✭
    dang, plus this seller (international382) has interesting feedback - I am curious as to all the "positive" negative feedbacks.

Anyone want to chance this? It is a high dollar coin. Maybe it has been dipped or cleaned or something. I'm not taking a chance!

link to SGS graded rare morgan
    My Registry Sets! PCGS Registry
  • MyqqyMyqqy Posts: 9,777
    I agree with TomB- I would much rather look at raw coins than coins sent to sgs........
    My style is impetuous, my defense is impregnable !
  • coinbufcoinbuf Posts: 11,052 ✭✭✭✭✭
    There is no easy way to answer your question. As some others have said the grade thay put on the label is of no use. I've seen some Morgans that were as close as a grade or two and some that were graded unc and the coin was an AU slider. I would'nt touch any copper in these slabs as most are sure to be cleaned and retoined or worse.

Chris
    My Lincoln Registry
    My Collection of Old Holders