Home U.S. Coin Forum

Useful Excel Files for coin inventories

My father wrote this very simple Excel inquiry that goes out and grabs what is on PCGS' site and creates an excel spreadsheet of it. I use it to keep track of the PCGS value of my collection. It is setup for Morgan Dollar's right now, but could easily be modified for any type of coin. I am not an excel expert but the script would be a good starting point for an inventory sheet of all coins. It would need a few more macros to make the raw data more useful.

Just copy the below (between but not including the stars) into notepad and save as "morganprices.iqy". Then double click it. It will open up an excel spreadsheet and load web site contents.

WEB
http://www.pcgs.com/prices/frame.chtml?type=date&filename=morgan_regular

Selection=12
Formatting=None
PreFormattedTextToColumns=True
ConsecutiveDelimitersAsOne=True
SingleBlockTextImport=False
DisableDateRecognition=False

My Registry Sets! PCGS Registry

Comments

• Works cool!
    Jeff

Semper ubi sub ubi
  • Thank you!

Worked OK for me!
    Jim Hodgson

Collector of US Small Size currency, Atlanta FRNs, and Georgia nationals since 1977. Researcher of small size US type - seeking serial number data for all FRN star notes, Series 1928 to 1934-D. Life member SPMC.

• I did a little more exploring in Excel and found how to do this. This is quite powerful and I see a number of other uses for this type of functionality. . .

Thanks for sharing!!!image
    Jeff

Semper ubi sub ubi
  • 66Tbird66Tbird Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭
    Thanks, That was cool.
    Need something designed and 3D printed?
  • tmot99tmot99 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭
    Very cool and easily changable to other series.
  • mozinmozin Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭
    Doesn't work at all for me, and I don't have a notepad. There must be a simply way for we Mac users to do this.
    I collect Capped Bust series by variety in PCGS AU/MS grades.
  • Excellent.

Thanks
  • 19Lyds19Lyds Posts: 26,490 ✭✭✭✭