Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Ever heard of this?

Hi,How is everyone today?

While looking through some Lincoln Cents in change I found an 1983 Lincoln with the reverse of the E in E. Pluribus Unum missing. At first I thought it was a cud but the obverse had nothing wrong with it. I searched online for something similar but the only thing I found was on ebay.Someone was selling the same thing as what I have. The missing E. So, i'm assuming its some kind of error. I'm new to collecting coins as far as the many different varieties of errors. Bare with me, I'm sorry. If someone could be so kind to help me out with this,it is greatly appreciated. If you need pictures,let me know.I will post some on here tomorrow.

Thank you, Jen

P.S. Would anyone mind if I asked a few more questions about Lincoln cents in the near future. I've found many Lincoln cent errors in change yet its very hard to find good reliable information on them other then this reliable,educated very well known message board here. I just hate bugging you all since your so much more knowledgeable then I. Do you mind?

Comments

• Options
    ERER Posts: 7,345
    Hi Jen,
    We love pictures, and we love questions. I'm not a copper man. But we have a lot of copper experts on here. coppercoins is the man, IMHO, and he will be glad to help you out.
  • Options
    MikeInFLMikeInFL Posts: 10,188 ✭✭✭✭
    Sounds to me like a grease-filled die.

Ask away on the rest of your questions, I'm sure someone will help you...Mike
    Collector of Large Cents, US Type, and modern pocket change.
  • Options
    ERER Posts: 7,345
    Coppercoins' name is Charles Daughtrey. He wrote the book, Looking Through Lincoln Cents, by Zyrus Press.

Another Lincoln book is The Complete Guide to LINCOLN CENTS, written by David Lange, also thru Zyrus Press.

You can call Zyrus Press at 888-622-7823 to order.
  • Options