Home PCGS Set Registry Forum

Can you feel the excitement Part 3...The 60th anniv. of our Roosevelt dime!

StoogeStooge Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭✭✭
Today is President F. Roosevelt's birthday, and the 60th anniversary of everyone's favorite dime, the Roosevelt dime. image

I've been collecting coins since I was a child, 30+ years, and this has turned out to be my favorite coin by far. I am constantly thinking about them, looking for them, checking out the ones I get in my change (Hoping I can find that 82-No/P) and of course thinking of ways to add to my collection.

I would like to personally thank Onlyroosies, Wondercoin, Date-n-type, Glen Gardner, and others for obtaining the few gems that I have in my collections. They mean soooooo much to me. I would also like to say to Justhavingfun that you should NEVER feel bad for having a set that is ranked so high that it is unobtainable, because if you fall asleep at the wheel, you may just get passed! image

Does anyone here that collects have any wonderful Roosie stories that they could share?

image Happy birthday Roosie image

Later, Paul.

Later, Paul.

Comments

• cladkingcladking Posts: 28,305 ✭✭✭✭✭
    In mid-1975 I was working at a small grocery when we discovered we were fast running
    out of dimes and nickels so I needed to make a run to the bank for more. Among these
    rolls were 5 rolls of very nice bankwrapped 69-D's. I had only been collecting clad for three
    years at that time which was ever since the FED had announced they were switching over
    to FIFO accounting. This meant the first coins in would be the first out as one of the re-
    quirements of this type of accounting. No more would pallets of brand new coin get lost
    in a corner of a warehouse to appear many years later. In those days it took years for
    the inventory of the FED to completely roll over so here were 5 rolls of pristine '69-D dimes
    even three years later.