Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

japan mint

has anyone has experience submitting international orders direct to the japan mint (going to the US) ?

I was looking through the website and saw some nice coins, but actually was more interested in the Metallic Art Objects (cool paperweights, and possibly an electrotype plaque (Kinkakuji) though it's expensive for something that's not a coin image )... and maybe a proof set while a box is going from there to here image .. anyway, Downies does some coin sets (Hello Kitty!), but not the paperweights, etc...

LINC

Anyway, I was unfamiliar with thier US distribution channels so I figure this is my best option, anyone ever do this before?

Thanks!
HYPE

Comments

• Options
    StorkStork Posts: 5,205 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hmm, I've never tried going directly to the mint before. It's unfortunate you can only buy the 'metallic art objects' via the mint--otherwise it's the distributor (apparently only Downie's for the US) for the coins/commemeratives.

In any case, if you do go that route I would expect excellent service. If you needed to call them I'm sure there would be someone with excellent English-speaking abilities readily available.

I thought this was interesting: "

<< <i>The Japan Mint produces and sells exquisite metallic art products in order to maintain and improve the producing techniques >>

".

Cathy

• Options
    HyperionHyperion Posts: 7,438 ✭✭✭
    that line caught me as well image

I might have to do it just for the experience. Ill do an update if that's the case, and maybe throw out some pictures.
  • Options
    harashaharasha Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭✭✭
    What! No Hello Kitty?
    Honors flysis Income beezis Onches nobis Inob keesis

DPOTD
  • Options
    shirohniichanshirohniichan Posts: 4,992 ✭✭✭
    The note I read from the site said that outside Japan one can only buy from dealers.
    Obscurum per obscurius
  • Options