Home Metal Detecting
Options

Discovery 2000 Detector - Tips?

Hello. Recently my dad found the Discovery 2000 metal detector we had bought years ago to find the markers for our property. Since then it has been in storage. With the weather getting nicer I wanted to give it a try at hunting for coins. I've NEVER used a metal detector before and have no idea what I am doing.

Do you have any general tips? Specific ones for this make/model? I searched around the net and found a few somewhat helpful articles/posts on this detector. Mostly for larger items.

Thanks. I'll let everyone know if I find anything more then a nail image
WTB: Eric Plunk cards, jersey (signed or unsigned), and autographs. Basically anything related to him

Positive BST: WhiteThunder (x2), Ajaan, onefasttalon, mirabela, Wizard1, cucamongacoin, mccardguy1

Negative BST: NONE!

Comments

• Options
    lordmarcovanlordmarcovan Posts: 43,212 ✭✭✭✭✭
    General tips? Read your owner's manual forwards and backwards several times, and practice, practice, practice!

Specific tips for that model? Can't help you much there. That's a Bounty Hunter machine, right? I think the Discovery nameplate is what the Bounty Hunter machines are sold under, through Wal-Mart. Generally speaking, in my experience, Bounty Detector machines are not as solidly built as other brands, but they're lightweight and perform quite well for their pricerange- lots of bang for the buck.

Get out there and use that thing. Dig every signal at first, so you get an idea of how the machine responds. When you are more confident of that, then use a little discrimination if you have to. Remember, though, the less discrimination the better. It's nice to be able to reject trash, but the more trash you reject, the better the chances you'll also be rejecting some good stuff, too ("throwing the baby out with the bathwater", so to speak).

I look forward to seeing you post your first Wheaties, and then your first silver, eventually! image