Home Metal Detecting
Options

Any of you guys ever been able to return lost property to the owner??

I am sure that this has happened numerous times, but since I am an ultra newb to this I haven't heard any stories. Have any of you guys ever found a lost item and been able to return it to the owner?? I think it would be cool to find someone's class ring, (or whatever) that they lost 30 years ago and be able to give it back to them.
Out of every hundred men, ten shouldn't even be there, eighty are just targets, nine are the real fighters, and we are lucky to have them, for they make the battle. Ah, but the one, one is a warrior and he will bring the others back.--Heraclitus, 5 B.C.

Comments

• Options
    I was asked to a sheep farm once to look for a gold ring but could not find the ring although I was shown the exact location where the ring was lost. I would have been nice if I could find it for him. Craps and electric fences weren't really metal-detector-friendly!
  • Options
    Why did the guy take his ring off?? Sheep can't tell if you are married or not.
    Out of every hundred men, ten shouldn't even be there, eighty are just targets, nine are the real fighters, and we are lucky to have them, for they make the battle. Ah, but the one, one is a warrior and he will bring the others back.--Heraclitus, 5 B.C.
  • Options
    ZotZot Posts: 825 ✭✭✭

<< <i>I was shown the exact location where the ring was lost >>

An interesting statement! image

-Z, aspiring smartass image
    Minelab: GPX 5000, Excalibur II, Explorer SE. White's: MXT, PI Pro
  • Options
    Sarge I haven't yet,most jewelry is hard to return unless somebody ask if you could help them find it.
    For class ring's I have seen alot of those returned as long as a name or initial's were in on it.
    As for me I have never found a class ring,but I mainly hunt for relic's and older coin's.