Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Introduction - gold coin interest

Hi,

My name is Joss Delage, and I am a newbie in this hobby. My Grand Father gave me a number of gold coins, most of them French 20 Francs, but also some US Double Eagles and one $5 Indian Head. I knew that the 20 francs were pretty much bullion, but I had some hope for the US coins, which are all pretty old and included 2 St Gaudens coins. Unfortunately, they've all been circulated, and so they're not really exceptional (I showed them to a dealer over the w-e).

I have sold the 20 Francs and replaced them with bullion coins, Double Eagles and Maples Leafs (Leaves?).

Having looked into the origin of all those coins, I am now interested in starting a gold coin collection. I am not looking at it as an investment but I also don't want to be irrational about it. Some "themes" that I'm attracted to would be:
- No motto gold coins
- Modern proof and uncirculated bullions

I am going to ask a lot of questions in the coming weeks and I hope people will be tolerant of my lack of knowledge. I have a few books to help me already.

If anyone knows of a forum dedicated to US gold coins, I'd love to know about it. I'm also interested in any site that would be rich in content on the subject.

Cheers,

JD
"The greatest productive force is human selfishness."
Robert A. Heinlein

Comments

• Options
    RYKRYK Posts: 35,790 ✭✭✭✭✭
    No Motto gold is my primary interest. I look forward to your participation in this fun and challenging area (so long as you do not scoop me on the coins I need imageimage ).

Welcome, aboard!

• Options
    Dennis88Dennis88 Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭
  • Options
    krankykranky Posts: 8,709 ✭✭✭
    What books do you have now, and how would you rate them as far as addressing the questions you have?

New collectors, please educate yourself before spending money on coins; there are people who believe that using numismatic knowledge to rip the naïve is what this hobby is all about.

• Options