Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

Coin identity

Hello everyone. I'm a brand newbie and need some help identifying a coin. It is worn to about a G-4 condition, and I think it is British, but I'm not sure, and it is:

Copper, 39 mm
Weighs 29 grams
Has large "40" in central circle w/ surrounding wreath
Other side has narrow shield w/ possibly 13 stars on bottom, half wreath from bottom and some sort of cap / crown on the top.

I am certainly not going to retire on this, but I can't find it in any of my referance books or any at the library.

Any assistance on identity of this will be greatly appreciated.
If the fire of what you are doing isn't there...Run fast to a new bonfire with your marshmellows!

Comments

• Options
    image Any chance of photo or scan?
    Tony Harmer
    Web: www.tonyharmer.org
  • Options
    ajaanajaan Posts: 17,112 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Sounds like a Portugal 40 Reis from 1820-1830s.

DPOTD-3
    'Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery'

CU #3245 B.N.A. #428

Don
  • Options
    Try Brazil. Probably a counterstamped 40 reis circa 1835.
    Brad Swain

World Coin & PM Collector
    My Coin Info Pages <> My All Experts Profile
  • Options
    lordmarcovanlordmarcovan Posts: 43,198 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Brazil was my guess, too.

Explore collections of lordmarcovan on CollecOnline, management, safe-keeping, sharing and valuation solution for art piece and collectibles.
  • Options
    lordmarcovanlordmarcovan Posts: 43,198 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Oh, BTW-

Explore collections of lordmarcovan on CollecOnline, management, safe-keeping, sharing and valuation solution for art piece and collectibles.
  • Options
    I'm just now figuring out how to take digital photos, I'm hoping to get it done today or tomorrow. I'll try the scanner...what a great idea!

If the fire of what you are doing isn't there...Run fast to a new bonfire with your marshmellows!
  • Options
    Thanks, I'll look those up to see.
  • Options
    ajaanajaan Posts: 17,112 ✭✭✭✭✭