Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Todays arrival.............1/200 of a dollar........I won't buy from this forum member again

Decided to start with the first hole in my 7070 dansco and go from there.

Bought the coin from ebay and over all I'm pleased, however I do have a question,

What constitutes a "problem free " coin and is this such a coin ???

I also would like opinion on grade, please.

Herb

Remember it's not how you pick your nose that matters, it's where you put the boogers.
imageimageimage

Comments

• Options
    RYKRYK Posts: 35,789 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I am no expert on early copper, but since you asked, I do not consider this coin to be problem-free. There is a little bit of corrosion on the reverse, old scratches on the obverse, and what is that red-orange color on the portrait? I would consider the coin to have VG-10 details (borderline VG/F). At the right price, it could be the perfect coin for your Dansco album. image
  • Options
    DNADaveDNADave Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭✭✭
    a nice coin but not problem free.
  • Options
    To answer your question, a 'problem free' coin is generally defined as one without any distractiuons but honest wear. "Problems" in that context would be things like scratches, corrosion, cleaning, artificial toning, etc. A problem free coin could be any grade, but generally is only used as a qualifier on circulated coins to indicate that it is original and the grade represents only wear through circulation.

I love Half Cents by the way. I would agree that the one you have there would grade VG taking everything into account.image
  • Options
    Yep, I kinda sorta knew the answer to my own question. I was hoping you guys would tell me "problem free" for a 200 year old coin might be different then for a newer coin..image

Herb

Note to self: ask questions before buying, ask questions before buying, ask questions before buying,
    Remember it's not how you pick your nose that matters, it's where you put the boogers.
    imageimageimage