Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

US-Philippines... Just received today! (Big Pix)

I am pretty new to the US-Phil series, but I find it an amazing run of coins. I have picked up a few here and there. These are my two biggest purchases so far. Feel free to post a pick of your favorite US-Phil coin!
1903-S 10 Centavo
imageimage
1903 Proof 20 Centavo
imageimage
Thanks for checking them out!

Comments

• Options
    AuldFartteAuldFartte Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭✭
    Nice !!! That proof Twenty is gorgeous image

My OmniCoin Collection
    My BankNoteBank Collection
    Tom, formerly in Albuquerque, NM.
  • Options
    oldshepoldshep Posts: 3,240
    Very,very nice! The Philippines expert on the boards is justhavingfun so if you need info, he's the go to guy.
    Shep
  • Options
    XXXXXX Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭
    Ecos........Very Nice in deed........I like em......image
  • Options
    Oh Ecos my goodness, that 1903-S 10 centavo is gorgeous and it's one of the 3 key dates in the series. The 1909-S and 1915-S are more famous as key dates, but the 03-S is definitely scarcer.

It's obviously uncirculated. Just look at the wonderful detail on Lady Liberty's hair. And you can see all 5 toes on her left foot and all five fingers of her right hand. Great detail on Mt Mayon, and strong stippling on the anvil's stand. A real beaut.

Ditto for the reverse, where you have full chest feathers on the eagle, where the wear shows first, so again, it's an unc back as well as front.

Yes, there's cabinet friction on the obverse, along Lady Liberty's thigh and Mound of Venus, but my guess -- and it's a guess, from a scan -- is that it would go for (at least) MS61 or 62 at PCGS. Assuming it does, you've found a coin worth several thousand.