Home U.S. Coin Forum

Teletrade vs. eBay?

OK, I'm a semi-newbie here. I've been surfing eBay for years, buying little stuff, nothing major. I recently had the "itch" to buy a nice coin (nice for me at least). I checked into Teletrade.

I first saw a half dollar I wanted. It was an 1825 PCGS AU50 Capped Bust. I saw that the last few auctions for this grade coin had gone recently for an unrealized price of $230, so I entered this as my max bid. I was outbid. It turned out that the coin was never sold; the seller pulled it out of the auction when he saw it wouldn't bring what he had hoped it would (according to an email from a Teletrade associate).

Then I saw a nice 1891S Morgan $1, graded PCGS MS64. Teletrade history showed the last three auctions brought realized prices of $264, $242 and $231. I didn't think this was TOO good of a price, so I checked eBay. Low and behold, I saw the same coin, same grade (PCGS MS64) going off auction within the next 30 minutes. I ended up sniping it with less than a minute left for $177.50.

What am I missing here? I got the same coin, same year, same grade, for $177.50 off eBay, versus the $250ish it will probably bring off Teletrade? I'm not really sure why Teletrade is as popular as it is right now. Is it just the fact that it came from the almighty Teletrade? Versus the lowlife eBay? Or did I just get THAT good of a deal off eBay? Was I just lucky, being in the right time, at the right price?

By the way, I received the eBay 1891S MS64 today in the mail, and it is GORGEOUS. It is at LEAST a step above the 3 PCGS MS63's I have already.

Like I said, this is all semi-new to me. I use the Red Book for a general idea of prices. I know, I know, it's not updated, but it at least gives me an idea. Don't give me a hard time for not using a different price source. But, the Red Book lists this 1891S for $250 in MS64.