Home Stamps Forum
Options

ANY STAMP EXPERTS PLEASE LOOK! 596??

I need someone thats a stamp expert that would be willing to read what I have to say and take a look at these scans of my stamps and see if my findings are incorrect or correct. I am a total novice to stamps when it comes to, well anything about them. I have been getting into stamps lately and have had a collection that my Great Grandfather had been collecting. Well I have come across 4 stamps that I have been going crazy over, possible 596's. Well from what I have been reading they have only found 13 of these stamps to-date. All used and none unused. 8 of the stamps have been canceled in Kansas City, MO. The first stamp was discovered in 1934. They were made in 1923 from Coil Waste and Perforated at 11. Thats pretty much all the info I can find besides pictures. Ok, the reason I BELEIVE that atleast 1 of these stamps is possibly a SCOTT 596 is that my Great Grandfather started his collection or purchased the book for it on April 5, 1934. He lived in a town in southern Iowa near the Iowa, Missouri border. In his collection he had many stamps that were canceled in Kansas City, MO, I would say atleast 40-50 or more. The top and bottom perf counts are 11, and the sides are 13. All the ones discovered are as well 11 and 13. I donot know how to determine the side perfs but they are the same as the 13 discovered stamps. The stamps I have, I measured the box of the stamp(not from perf to perf) and I got 19mm from side to side and then 22.5mm top to bottom. Well I have been reading and counting perfs, measuring, and I am certian that 1 of these is a 596. At first I thought it might be three of them, and now I am down to 1. Well I have been using this web site as a ref. REF. SCANS they have all 13 pictures of the ones discovered so far. I carefully looked at each picture and ended up knocking 3 off my list. I did that because each picture I looked at the perfs and determined that the top and bottom perfs are di