Home PSA Set Registry Forum

How do You Safely Clean the PSA Holders?

I'm a newbie to these boards so if this question has been answered many times before, be patient with me.

Is there a foolproof method / product to safely clean the PSA holders, particularly that nasty glue residue left by non-pealable stickers?

In my opinion the condition and cleanliness of the holder contributes to the eye appeal of a PSA graded card. I'm a vintage Topps set collector, meaning I hang onto the cards! Scratches I can't do anything about, but I would very much like to remove the price stickers and glue residue off the cards in my set registry collections. Any wisdom on this topic would be appreciated.

I'd also like to voice a plea to all regular sellers of vintage PSA graded cards. Buy pealable stickers, put the card in a bag first, or best of all don't put any stickers on the holders!

Thanks.

PACOLE99
PACOLE99
Collecting 1951 - 1956 PSA Graded Topps Baseball

Comments

• coachhcoachh Posts: 529
    Goo Gone has worked well for me.
  • GATOR5GATOR5 Posts: 654

Googone is great for adhesive and to get them scratches out old fashion turtle wax.

Cheers
  • ctsoxfanctsoxfan Posts: 6,246 ✭✭
    I agree w/ Goo Gone. Works well, no after effects on the slab, removes any sticker or tape residue easily. I agree with you though - my biggest pet peeve when buying slabs on Ebay is the seller who puts a price sticker right on the slab. Don't do this, please! Use a card sleeve if you must sticker the holder seperately...
  • A bench grinder usually does the trick for me.

N162
  • MorrellManMorrellMan Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭
    Here are the trained and certified slab cleaners at work:

Mark (amerbbcards)

"All evil needs to triumph is for good men to do nothing."
  • jersterjerster Posts: 828 ✭✭✭