Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

I am new to the World and Ancient Coin Forum

Hello everyone. I just started collecting coins about a year ago and have mostly concentrated on U.S. coins but now I want to expand into world coin collecting. I am very excited about the Eliasberg auction this April and I am bidding in that aucton. This is a rare opportunity I can't pass up. I am familar how to find realized prices on U.S coins but can you tell me where I can find prices for world coins? Are there any online sites that show realized prices on previous auctioned coins? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    wybritwybrit Posts: 6,953 ✭✭✭
    Welcome!

Your best bet for all world coins is the Krause Standard Catalog of World Coins.

If you are more interested in a specific country, more realistic market values are available in some of the catalogues specialized to a specific country. Great Britain, Canada, South Africa and probably Germany all have catalogues specific to their country's coins.

Most auction houses will publish realized prices on the Net or make available their results upon request.

I am sure others will be along soon with more advice.
    Former owner, Cambridge Gate collection.
  • Options
    pf70collectorpf70collector Posts: 6,503 ✭✭✭
    Great thanks for the advice. Their are some really nice coins from the 18th and 19th century Latin American countries that I find very appealing and compared to U.S. coins in that same time peroid seem to be undervalued in my opinion. I guess I will find out when I start bidding on these coins.
  • Options
    1jester1jester Posts: 8,638 ✭✭✭
    Welcome to the Darkside, fellow addict!!

imageimageimage
    .....GOD

"Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you." -Luke 11:9