Home PCGS Set Registry Forum
Options

NEWBIE HERE....TRYING TO FIGURE OUT THIS REGISTRY WEIGHTING THING...

I have been wondering this forever, so I thought I would FINALLY ask.

The registry set that I am currently building has a set rating of 45.49. For the sake of this example, I am going to use my 1959-Current Lincoln Cent Registry Set where each coin has An equal weight of 1.0. I am trying to come to this number myself and I am having a one heck of a time getting there!

This is how I have been working it up: I took each of my coins and multiplied the grade by the weight (example: my MS68 2000-P Lincoln would be 1.0 X 68 = 68). Then I added all coins together and divided that sum by 96 (the “divisor” that PCGS gives on the website for this set).

Am I doing this correct?????????

When I add it up this way, all of my current coins add up to a total of 4302. If you divide 4302 by 96, you get 44.81 not 45.49. I must not be doing something right?

Secondly, how does one calculate your weighted GPA? And what does weighted GPA mean? If the answer to this is too long-winded, please refer me to previous links that might help me to better understand.

Thanks in advance for your help/input.

Comments

• Options
    MarkMark Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Ellewood:

Did you give each of your "RD" coins the 1 point bonus? In other words, your MS68RD 2000-P cent contributes 68 + 1 = 69 points to your total (not 68 points), where the "+1" is the 1 point RD bonus.

Mark
    Mark

• Options
    sumduncesumdunce Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭✭
    Print out the bonuses page. Print out the composition page.

Add together all the weights on the composition page. This is going to be your denominator.