Home PSA Set Registry Forum
Options

Dumb accounting question on cards

Just for the fun of it, I want to learn simple general accounting principles and apply them to my collection. I have no knowledge of accounting even though the terms are not unfamiliar to me. However, I just cannot grasp the concept of debits/credits, assets/liabilities, etc. For those here that run a business and knows the accounting side, how do you set up an accounting system in a software where really the only account is the inventory of cards? Can I perhaps get a quick primer on how the buying, selling and trading off cards apply to accounting principles?

Comments

• Options
    Assets would be things like cash, cards and accounts receivable. Assets have a debit balance.

Liabilities are things you owe but haven't paid yet, accounts payable and loans/notes would be examples; liabilities have credit balances.

The two other categories you need are Revenues and Expenses. Expenses are debits, Revenues (Sales) are credits.

Let's say you are just starting a business from scratch. You would borrow money from the bank. Debit the cash account and credit the loan account. When you purchase cards you would debit Card Inventory and credit Cash.

You pay rent for your shop, debit Rent expense, credit cash.
    Pay for phone installation, turn on electric, etc. debit utility accounts, credit cash.

First customer comes in and you have a sale. Debit cash, credit sales. Take the card out of inventory by debiting Cost of Goods Sold and credit Card Inventory for your purchase price when you bought the card for inventory.
    Holes-in-One
    1. 7-17-81 Warrenton GC Driver 310 yards 7th Hole (Par 4)
    2. 5-22-99 Warrenton GC 6 iron 189 yards 10th Hole
    3. 7-23-99 Oak Meadow CC 5 iron 180 yards 17th Hole
    4. 9-19-99 Country Lake GC 6 iron 164 yards 15th Hole
    5. 8-30-09 Country Lake GC Driver 258 yards 17th Hole (Par 4)