Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Franklin PCGS Deep Cameo

How much of a difference in appearance is there between a PR67 DCAM and a PR68 DCAM? What would prevent a PR67 coin from becoming a PR68?

Comments

• Options
    RampageRampage Posts: 9,418 ✭✭✭✭
    I am no proof coin expert, but from what I have seen, I would think maybe spotting or haziness would keep it out of a 68 holder. From what I understand from reading other posts, hairlines would knock it down to a 64 I think.
  • Options
    Alot of times the coins will look very similar,68 DCAMS will be "all there",where a 68 CAM may be one side strong and one side weak,generally the reverse.
  • Options
    Hairlining could also keep a proof coin down in grade.
  • Options
    LucyBopLucyBop Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭
    Pretty much everbody already answered this question, but I will summerize it all and give some personal observations.

Proof coins typically are hit free however this isnt always the case, some proof coins (I have seen many proof Frankies with hits) will have some hits on them such as you would find on mint state issues, obviously this will impact the grade.

Franklins are just notorious for hairlines and milkspots and hazing.. Making pr68 and above coins in DCAM rather scarce with certian years extremely rare.

Hairlines are fine scratches that can be found in the fields of the coin, but often escape the eye at 1st glance. I suggest rotating the coin as you examine the fields in search of these nasty hairlines, also, use varying light sources if possible.

Milkspots are rather easy to see as they are what the name implies, a white spot on the coin, same goes for haze. Haze can in most case be removed with a careful bath but milkspots tend to stick around.....