Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Modern PR70's

Hey guys and gals, I'm new to the forum and have been lurking in the background for a little while, but I have a few questions about modern proofs. When you have a PCGS graded PR70DCAM, are your coins exactly perfect in every respect? I've bought some 2004 quarters (resales) and they look great to the naked eye, but when taking a look through a 10X lens, some things don't look so good. I've seen slight hazing in the field, nicks in the field, a nick in the bust, etc. I have heard that you should buy the coin and not the holder, but how do you reconcile a PR70 tag with the coin in the holder. Am I being too picky? Or are these anonamlies accepted by the TPGers? How easy is it to counterfeit a PCGS/NGC holder? I recently received a PR70 Keelboat Nickel that had a what looked like a water droplet spot in the field(that could be seen without magnification), but was able to send it back without any problem. I am relatively new to the hobby and I enjoy the forum and learning as much as possible.
Mike

Comments

• Options
    RussRuss Posts: 48,515 ✭✭✭
    The stated PCGS standard for PR70 is no flaws visible under 5X magnification.

The real standard is where did the dart land on the board.

Russ, NCNE
  • Options
    DorkGirlDorkGirl Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭

No coin will be perfect under 10x. You are being too pickyimage
    Becky
  • Options
    cladkingcladking Posts: 28,331 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome aboard.

There's really no such thing as perfect so PR-70's aren't equal, but there won't be much difference though.
    Tempus fugit.
  • Options
    wam98wam98 Posts: 2,685
    image to the forum.
    Wayne
  • Options
    Thanks everyone for your opinions. I'm glad I found this forum. It's great. So many things to learn about.
    Mike
  • Options
    fcloudfcloud Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭
    Welcome Redflyer65.

President, Racine Numismatic Society 2013-2014; Variety Resource Dimes; See 6/8/12 CDN for my article on Winged Liberty Dimes; Ebay