Home PSA Set Registry Forum
Options

Any experience with CTA

Hi all,

I am new to the boards. I have been reading your posts for the last few months and decided to join. I find all of you very knowledgable. My wife bought me a 1970 Thurman Munson card. Unfortunately it was graded by CTA, and I have no experience with them. After reading some of your threads, I am afraid that it may be tampered with or trimmed. Anyone have any experience with their cards? I would appreciate to know what you think. Thanks.

David
WhosYourVladdy

I collect 1977 Topps Baseball PSA 9
60's and 70's Baseball HOFers PSA 8 or better

Comments

• Options
    pcpc Posts: 743
    remain afraid.
    stay with PSA
    Money is your ticket to freedom.
  • Options
    They were out of northern california, and have went out of business. While they were open, I always thought of them being legit. Not in the same league as most of the garbage out there (pro, ect.). I saw a lot of there slabs here because they were local, and never saw anything that raised eyebrows. I never heard anything either way on them. I wouldn't count it as trimmed right away. I'd crack it out and send it to PSA.

• Options
    jrdolanjrdolan Posts: 2,549 ✭✭
    When I rejoined the hobby and thought all graders were equal, I bought some CTA's. These are not as bad as PRO, which slabs trimmed cards as a business practice, but CTA did let some trimmers slip through. Of the half-dozen I bought, all were 2 or 3 grades worse than stated on the flip, and a couple were trimmed.

If your ultimate goal is PSA 6, and you can get a CTA 9 for dirt cheap (include the PSA regrade in your cost), and don't mind risking a trim job ... To hell with it. Just avoid! Stick with PSA / GAI / SGC. I wish I had asked the question you're asking much earlier in the process.
  • Options
    Bought a cta 8 looked like an 8, scatch it when I cracked it image came back PSA 6 would have been 8 or higher????
  • Options
    VarghaVargha Posts: 2,392 ✭✭