Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Is PSA/DNA reliable? The best?

Hello all,

Still new to the board. I've appreciated everyone's help in answering my questions thus far! I'm sure this has come up on this board many times, but is PSA/DNA reliable when it comes to autograph authentication? Are they considered the best? Any thoughts are appreciated...

Thanks,
Doug

Comments

• Options
    jrdolanjrdolan Posts: 2,549 ✭✭
    I'm not an auto pro, but this much I have learned about buying signatures.

When folks look for autos on eBay, their search words usually consist of "PSA/DNA" and the name of the player. That should answer your question.

But there are other authenticators considered reliable, too: GAI, for example. And many sources certify their autos as being authentic because they hired the athlete and were in his presence when he signed the items. These include TriStar, Upper Deck, Steiner, MLB Autos and more. They have hologram stickers with serial numbers that match a Certificate of Authenticity describing the item and the circumstances of signing. Some even provide a photo of the star signing their wares. These are pretty safe.

The thing to beware on eBay is a generic COA offered as the only authentication. The ones that say "This item is guaranteed to be signed by the player indicated" are pretty much worthless. For one thing, anybody can buy official-looking document paper and print their own COA's. For another thing, even the real ones that are just nonspecific form letters -- "This item comes from a lot examined by ..." -- can be recycled and used with fake autos.
  • Options
    They are the most well known and that is important. Having an expert that you hire to authenticate may be more accurate, but if no one else knows them then it's a meaningless COA.