Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

NFL Head Coach...Never Ejected?

My apologies for posting this message in the wrong forum, but
there seems to be many well educated sports fans here.

I've been a fan of the NFL since about 1984. That gives me about
20 years of knowledge. I could be mistaken, but in that time, I don't
EVER recall a NFL head coach ever being ejected from a game.

Baseball managers get ejected all the time. Basketball and hockey
(when they are playing) head coaches get ejected every once in
a while. But NFL? Does this fall into the "unwritten rule" category
where NFL head coaches are immune from ejection? Just wondering.
If anyone can shed some light, I would greatly appreciate it.

/s/ JackWESQ

Comments

• Options
    mudflap02mudflap02 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭
    I'm no expert, but I would kind of agree with the "unwritten rule" thing. Any of the other sports can plat fine without the man at the top, but in football he really does run the show during the game. He would probably have to make a pretty serious boo boo to get thrown out of one (ie punching a ref or a fan).
  • Options
    remember: Woody Hayes
    not nfl coach but still worth remembering after all these years

coached Ohio St. to 6 national titles (1954,57,61,68,70) and 4 Rose Bowl victories; 238 career wins in 28 seasons at Denison, Miami-OH and OSU; his coaching career ended abruptly in 1978 after he attacked an opposing player on the sidelines.

but did he get kicked out of the game?

• Options
    helionauthelionaut Posts: 1,555 ✭✭