Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Autographed Bat

Can anyone tell me how much is a 1989 American League All-Star team autographed bat worth? I believe there are only 250 in existence. Mark McGwire, Bo Jackson, Cal Ripken, Nolan Ryan, etc signed it. Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    jrdolanjrdolan Posts: 2,549 ✭✭
    It depends if it's authenticated or carries some proof that every auto on it is real. I showed some scans of a bat that purported to be a 1999 World Series Yankees bat with 22 signatures, but the auto pros here informed me that at least some of the sigs were fakes. I'm not a bat pro, but I would guess even a couple forged autos would pretty much make the whole bat much less desirable and valuable.
  • Options
    Thanks. I have the COA. Also, what is the best way to sell it?
  • Options
    1420sports1420sports Posts: 3,473 ✭✭✭
    The best way to sell it would be as a PSA/DNA bat.

Who is the COA issued by?
    collecting various PSA and SGC cards
  • Options
    I believe Upper Deck, but will have to verify. It has been a while since I looked at it. Any insight as to the value? Is EBAY the way to go?
  • Options
    You could use an "auction house", if they would accept it.

But you would have to pay a hefty fee to sell it, usually around 15%

Additionally, the "auction house" takes another "matching amount" out of the final selling fee, for a "buyers fee" or something similar.

That's whopping 30% off the final sale price.

So I'd say, put it on ebay with a reserve to protect your "investment".

Dal
  • Options
    AllenAllen Posts: 7,165 ✭✭✭
    UD didn't start until 1989 so that is unlikely. If it is not from a reputable company, PSA/DNA it. Then eBay if it passes PSA/DNA it would be a pretty nice item, has 5 or 6 big stars and the rest are mostly semi-stars at best. I have never seen one, so you may do great.
  • Options
    Any idea as to an adequate reserve amount that should be set for a sale on EBAY? Thanks.
  • Options