Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

eBay sellers: Can I get some advice?

I have a few questions that I was hoping I could get some advice on or answers to.

1) What would be a fair cost to charge for shipping on a lot of 200+ PSA slabbed cards?

2) If a buyer sends you payment via PayPal, can you have PayPal send you that money in the form of a check or once it's in your PayPal account that is where it must stay?

3) If a buyer sends you payment via personal check on a substantially priced item, how long do you wait for the check to clear and how do you know when it does clear?

I'm fairly new to the art of selling on eBay and I thank you in advance for your help.

Comments

• Options
    Porkchopper4- welcome to the world of selling. image

a good estimate for the lot: weigh them together and add about 2#s for packing... it'll vary between shipping zone and carrier, so you might either get an estimate from USPS and/or UPS or FedEx and list a range or the high end to make sure.

I haven't used PayPal recently but you will verify a bank account, and you can have it directly transfered into that or get a check...transfer ill be faster.

i usually hold a good $ check for 2 weeks, some might tell you otherwise, but i think that'll cover the week usual and then a few extra days to make sure.

• Options
    Welcome to the boards!

1) Ditto wlf3.

2) It is best to transfer it to your bank account. To have them cut you a check takes MUCH longer and there is a fee for that.

3) I typically wait 7-10 business days. Federal Law just passed this week which effectively eliminates lead time for checks. It is all electronic and their check should clear within 24-48 hours of the deposit (depending on the deposit time). I'm still insisting on a wait time for checks though.

Hope this helps!!! image

Scott
    Registry Sets:
    T-205 Gold PSA 4 & up
    1967 Topps BB PSA 8 & up
    1975 Topps BB PSA 9 & up
    1959 Topps FB PSA 8 & up
    1976 Topps FB PSA 9 & up