Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

English coin writeups, collecting tips etc.

Has anyone on here ever wanted to write an article on their fave monarch, or on their fave series of English coins. Or Scottish or Irish, or Roman British, as long as it's from the UK it doesn't matter.

Some of you maybe aware that the owner of a coin discussion forum by the name of coinpeople has set up a UK area on that site for me to fill up with museum displays, collecting tips and hints or anything else of use. Now i'm currently working on some stuff myself but there are many areas of UK coinage that i have no experience with, but i know some of you guys have!

So if you want to write an article about English Conder tokens littered with pictures of your collection then feel free. If hammered pennies are more in your line then feel free.

I'm currently writing some short articles on English hammered and i'm doing it by monarch with a quick brief description of the context of the reign and any important changes to the coinage. Then i give a picture of one where i have one. Currently due to my hammered collection being rather small i haven't done very much at all!

Here's the hammered stuff i'm working on...

Plantagenet

Stephen

It's still a bit of a mess, i need to reference the historical sources i've nabbed info from and i need to get more pics and rearrange a few things and try and reword some other things to read more clearly.

Anyhow as you may appreciate it gives you a chance to show off your knowledge and your collection at the same time. Obviously if you did write an article you would probably post it on the site yourself and therefore you can credit yourself at the bottom. If it was say posted on here for me to put up over there then leave me details of how you would like to be credited.

I hope that we English coin collectors can as a community build up a valuable reference site with lots of pictures and loads of historical information and the like.