Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Franklin lovers - Is there sometimes a fine line (so to speak) between FBL and non-FBL?

Is there?

In most cases, is it obvious whether the bell lines are full, or are there gray areas? Do you find that the grading services prefer to err on the side of caution when it comes to awarding the FBL designation?

Dan

Comments

• Options
    Yes
    Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Apropos of the coin posse/aka caca: "The longer he spoke of his honor, the tighter I held to my purse."

• Options
    Is there a technical description of FBL? I'm still learning and wouldn't know FBL from not.
  • Options
    robertprrobertpr Posts: 6,862 ✭✭✭
    I find it's pretty easy to determine FBL from non-FBL at PCGS, while at NGC it's a crapshoot at best. PCGS looks at the lower set only, NGC at both sets. NGC is much more finicky about hits going through the lines.

A major hit going through the lines, or a few minor ones, will axe the designation at PCGS. They grade more on the strike: if they're full, they're full.

NGC I think examines the coin with a microscope. If any molecules are mis-aligned, sorry.
  • Options
    RonyahskiRonyahski Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Yes, there is a fine line on many of the dates. Some dates are usually well struck with well preserved dies and almost all the coins are FBL. The 48. 48D, 49, 49D for instance fall into this category. Most of the dates, however, have that fine line. By a long mile, the area where most coins fall short of FBL are the lower lines just to the left of the bell crack. The lower lines, by design, go to about 1/64 of an inch to the crack. On many coins, the lines fade out just to the left of that area, and it becomes a judgement call if the lines are there or not.