Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Coin Question.....

I've been holding a 1889CC Morgan in XF 45 for about 8 years. The only problem is, it
resides in an ACG holder. If you owned this and wanted to sell it, would you crack the holder
or sell it as is? I've never removed a coin from a slab, and I've said goodbye to all of my other
ACG coins. As this one seems to be a legit 45, I'm reluctant to crack it and damage the coin.
What would you do if it was yours?
aknow

Looking for uncirculated Indian Heads and PRS electric guitars

Comments

• Options
    I'd send it to PCGS or NGC before selling. Probally crack and submit. If you have any worries about cleaning or anything, then I'd send it either to ANACS or SEGS...
    -George
    42/92
  • Options
    aknowaknow Posts: 115
    Thank you, George
    aknow

• Options
    definitely crack it out and send to pcgs or ngc. just be careful with the cracking out part or give it to a dealer and pay them for their services. they are probably experts doing this

David
  • Options
    jdimmickjdimmick Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Post a pic off it up here, and get comments from the board.

Without seeing the coin, I wouldnt try to guess where it should go to get holdered, but if nice, it should go to the top tier services for maximum money. Dont sell it in the ACG holder, and dont sell it RAW, or you will lose out on many potential buyers.

jim
  • Options
    wam98wam98 Posts: 2,685
    If it were mine, it would be in my next submission to PCGS. If it were mine, I'd crack it out myself and submit raw. That is what I would do, if it were mine. image
    Wayne
  • Options
    airplanenutairplanenut Posts: 21,910 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I would NOT send it to SEGS... if it's got damage, send it to ANACS or NCS.

Jeremy
    JK Coin Photography - eBay Consignments | High Quality Photos | LOW Prices | 20% of Consignment Proceeds Go to Pancreatic Cancer Research
  • Options
    RickMilauskasRickMilauskas Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭