Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

New ebay tool for sellers?

Forgive me for whining but I have been using ebay for many years and this has never happened to me before. Last night I bid on an auction (one of several bidders) and the seller ended the auction with a few seconds left and cancelled all bids. The same seller did this on two other auctions I was following (all had bids). To my understanding and unless I am missing something, ending auctions and cancelling all bids on auctions with only a few seconds left does not adhere to ebay policy and explicitly goes against the note in the below link.

Published ebay policy on ending auctions

I filed a report with ebay customer service and attached is an excerpt from the response I got:

"I am sorry for any frustration this situation has caused you. The most
common reason for an auction ending before the scheduled time is that
the seller decided to end the auction early. We encourage sellers to
post an addition to the description of the auction explaining why they
have ended the auction early. However, sometimes, sellers do not take
our suggestion.

Just as a storeowner can remove an item from her shelves at any time,
sellers on eBay have the right to end their listings at any time prior
to completion. While I know this policy can cause our buyers
disappointment, we don't feel it's fair to force someone to sell an item
they have decided not to sell after all.

In accordance with our site policies, we have found that there is not
enough evidence to show that a violation has taken place. We understand
your concern about this situation, and can reopen the investigation if
any additional information can be provided. "