Home PCGS Set Registry Forum
Options

Newbie Introduction & Help Request

Greetings!

I'm a newbie only in the sense that I have never participated in the coin boards, but I am an experienced coin collector with an extensive graded collection of mid to higher-end slabbed pieces and certified antique proof sets, etc.. I have been collecting since 1971 (with a break in college and grad school where I had to sell my collection for tuition) and have worked for a dealer as a college student.

My experience on the CU boards has been as a baseball card collector, but I'm new to the coin boards. I have several questions typical of the uninformed rookie, such as:

Who are the trusted online coin dealers? Does PCGS have a crossover service with pre-screening? Do members of the coin board have a comfortable swap and sale tradition between themselves as do the sportscard guys? How does the coin registry work? Do the other coin grading services have collectors boards? Is the rivalry between grading service collector advocates as fierce as it is in the sports card world? Etc...etc...etc...

Sorry for rambling, but I would appreciate any and all guidance. I must confess that I am really just jumping in here without the prior benefit of lurking on these pages first. If there are any sportscard guys who are also active on these boards, then knowing who they are would be a big help as well. Thanks in advance for the help!

Steve Wolfe

PS - "Machodoc" is also my name on the sportscards boards, and refers to the name of the body of water I live on in Virginia. I also have a website, which is: www.dahlgrensupervisor.com

Edited to delete a sentence fragment

Comments

• Options

I put in my two cents worth.

Who are the trusted online coin dealers?
    There are many, many good online dealers. I'll start the list in no particular order.
    American numismatic rarities
    Pinnacle rarities
    Heritage rare coin galleries
    David Lawrence
    Larry Whitlow
    Legend Numismatics