Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

A True Story: Coin Doctors, Herbivores & Money

I received an email this morning from a coin collector who also happens to be one of our customers. He asked me to post a story to the forum, so I am accommodating his request. As a disclaimer, I have no knowledge of the following event and cannot say if it is true or not. I can say that the person who sent me the email is honest and would have no reason to fabricate such a story. I hesitated to post the story, since I do not want to start any flame wars or cause an uproar. But, in light of the recent developments with the Coin Doctor Posse, I decided to go ahead and post the story. Maybe this can be the inaugural case for the Posse. Or........maybe there is nothing wrong with "enhancing" a coin to increase it's value from $5K to $19K in 15 minutes.

I would like to hear your thoughts. Is the dealer in the story an evil "coin doctor", or did he harmlessly curate the coin, thus preserving it for future generations?

Here's the story as I received it (edited only to remove some foul language):

via email......