Home PSA Set Registry Forum
Options

Collecting Low-Grade Vintage Graded Sets

I have been doing this ever since 1997 when I starting collecting graded cards. With all the discussion about restoration, etc, this type of collecting can offer piece of mind that your cards have been "untouched" by any would-be card doctors out there. Having them graded to me, just ensures that the cards are authentic and have not been altered. I don't mind the low grade. Although I will never compete with some of those beautiful high end sets that are out there I do own almost every major boxing and hockey card.

For example: my 54-55 topps hockey set has an average grade of 3-4 range. I do have a GAI 8 card of a common of Larry Popein (edited to add: it's a hergesheimer not a popein card), but all the other cards are in the 2-3 range. My 51 parkies are about the same average with a GAI 2 of both Howe and Richard, same goes for the Ice Kings.

I find this method of collecting enjoyable and economical...I also find trading much easier as well. Higher end cards require a little more negiotation between the parties IMO.

In some cases, I'll collect high end vintage cards when it's economical: For example, the 56 Topps (gum inc.) Boxing cards in 8 or better condition can be had for about 30-40 dollars apiece, and since it is only a 21 card boxing set (100 total), collecting the set won't cost and arm and a leg.

I have decided that I am going to start adding these sets utilizing all 3 registries...I have some PSA only sets that I will add to their registry, my T-218 and T-220 boxing will go into the SGC registry (they are in raw form right now so I need to submit them to SGC), and my 51 parkhurst, 54 topps, and 1938 churchman boxing will go into the GAI registry when implemented.