Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Help a newbie *grade* his Morgan

Alright,

I picked this piece up at an antique store the other day. I thought it was in real good shape for it's price, but seeing as I'm fairly new to the upper level grading game, I could have been way off. I know pictures are hard to judge, but if a few people wouldn't mind giving me their rough estimates, I'd appreciate it. I won't post what *I* think it is, yet, because I don't want to bias anyone. A couple of notes...

The darkness over the cheek and jaw is really shadow, it doesn't actually look like that on the coin, likewise with any darkness noticed on the top of the coin. There are two carbon/tone spots, one on each side.

Let me know!
Thanks!
Charles Darwin

to live outside the law, you must be honest ---- bd

Comments

• Options
    mgoodm3mgoodm3 Posts: 17,497 ✭✭✭
    Little rub? I'll go AU58.
    coinimaging.com/my photography articles Check out the new macro lens testing section
  • Options
    ShamikaShamika Posts: 18,761 ✭✭✭✭
    I don't see any rub (though I could be wrong). I'll say MS64.
    Buyer and seller of vintage coin boards!
  • Options
    The first place I look is the cotton leaves. I compared the flatness of the leave's edges to my PCGS grading set and I would give it a grade of AU55. PCGS does an excellent job of grading Morgans in AU grades (Love those AU58 PCGS coins!!!).

Koolcoin
  • Options
    My WAG is 63 to 64.
  • Options
    rlawsharlawsha Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭