Home PSA Set Registry Forum

1969 set weights

Any experts on this set care to comment on its weights?

I was adding 2 cards yesterday, and noticed that #640 has a weight of 1. Considering it's a HOFer (Fergie Jenkins) from the high series, that does not seem correct. Any other outlying cards that PSA should fix?

Nick
Reap the whirlwind.

Need to buy something for the wife or girlfriend? Check out Vintage Designer Clothing.

Comments

• magellanmagellan Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭
    Nick, I'm no expert but I play one on a PSA board image

I noticed the same thing on Wilhelm, doesn't seem right to me for a HOFer , no matter who it is.....Luis Aparicio is another, & Cepeda yet another. Walt Alston is a 2 & Earl Weaver a 2.5 !

Dave
    Topps Heritage

Now collecting:
    Topps Heritage

1957 Topps BB Ex+-NM
    All Yaz Items 7+
    Various Red Sox
    Did I leave anything out?
  • gaspipe26gaspipe26 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭
    Nick,
    I wouldnt get to concerned about the set weights until they weigh tough commons. I agree Fergie and Hoyt deserve a higher weighting than Weaver and Alston.
  • dunerduner Posts: 625
    I've been curious about this topic for a while. who comes up with the weights? can they be altered?

i've heard they take smr of psa 8's and adjust the grades accordingly. does anybody know for sure? my particular interest is in the '51 bowman football. can anyone explain how psa 8 commons list at $55 yet a psa 8 van brocklin and landry each roughly book for $800, yet one is weighted a 4 and the other a 5. what gives?