Home U.S. Coin Forum

Modern Submission Question

Let me first start by saying that I have never submitted to a grading service before. I'm relatively new to collecting, and most of my nicer coins have been bought slabbed. I just joined up with the PCGS Gold membership, and am trying to decide on my free submission coins.

So, that said, I have a nice little collection of modern circulation coins from 1978 (my birth year) to the current year that I have pulled from mint sets over the past months. Some of these coins look fabulous, but I'm not sure how they would grade. Needless to say, I'm pretty darned curious. Here's my questions:

- What is the estimated norm grade for a modern mint set coin? Is is 65? 63? Lower?

- Would a 68 look that much better than the normal coin? Would it be an obvious standout to the naked eye in a lineup of other coins from mint sets?

- Should I just stick with my Walkers? image
You shout in your sleep.
Perhaps the price is just too steep.
Is your conscience at rest if once put to the test?
You awake with a start to just the beating of your heart.
Just one man beneath the sky,
Just two ears, just two eyes.

Comments

• melikecoinsmelikecoins Posts: 1,154 ✭✭
    Would a 68 look that much better than the normal coin? Would it be an obvious standout to the naked eye in a lineup of other coins from mint sets?

Yes it would

Glen
    I don't buy slabs I make them
  • RussRuss Posts: 48,514 ✭✭✭

<< <i>- What is the estimated norm grade for a modern mint set coin? Is is 65? 63? Lower? >>

There is a wide variance from year to year in the quality found in mint sets. Some years, lots of gem MS65's can be had, others the mint was on drugs when they were produced and a lot of junk came out. Tough question to answer on a general basis but, on balance, MS64 to MS65 is likely to be the average.

<< <i>- Would a 68 look that much better than the normal coin? Would it be an obvious standout to the naked eye in a lineup of other coins from mint sets? >>