Home World & Ancient Coins Forum

Question for Spanish coin experts

I have a Spanish coin featuring Queen Isabell II, dated 1868. On the reverse, the denomination says "10 Es." Looking on Ebay, I found only two examples of this coin, and in both it was described as a 10 Escudo coin composed of gold. Checking in my 2003 Blackbook, it also states that the 1868 10 Escudo is composed of gold. What is bothering me is that the coin I have does not "look" gold. When I first purchased it, it appeared bronze or copper to me. Does anyone have any additional information to offer on this particular coin? I have very little experience with gold coins, so I don't know if they can appear to be bronze-like over time. Or perhaps it is some kind of counterfeit, which if so, it is one heck of a counterfeit.

Thanks,
KEEWEE

PS: Sorry I haven't been on lately. Will try to be more sociable.
Coins? Did someone say "Coins?"
myurl

Comments

• lordmarcovanlordmarcovan Posts: 43,194 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Those counterfeits are fairly common. I sold one on eBay a while ago- what made it interesting is that a friend of mine actually found it with his detector, on a 19th century homesite near here! (That same site was also occupied much earlier- I found a 1738 halfpenny there!)

Those counterfeit 10-escudo pieces may not have been intended to circulate or fool anyone- it's possible they were just intended as gaming counters, much as the fake 1790's British guineas made of brass. The one I sold, despite having been buried for probably 100 years, still had some traces of gilt on it, so they were probably gilt brass, though I have seen just plain brass ones, too. Many were holed, as was the one I sold.