Home PCGS Set Registry Forum
Options

What does the PCGS Registry mean to me?

What does my Platinum Registry mean to me?

To me? not much, to my 15 year old son, it's his little world, coming from a life of torment and abuse, (former x wife) this set is his life.

When I got my kid back from that "witch" in late 2000, I asked him what are your hobbies, he said oh?

I like coins, tropical fish and baseball cards, just like you dad.

So ...... one day, I said heck I'll give him my 1909 S-VDB now in a PCGS MS-66 Red holder, and say to him, this was my first coin, now it's your first coin.

My mom was in tears back in 1975 when she had to reach deep down inside her bra and pull out $200 bucks to pay for that coin, but what it penny it was and still is.

So,For my son's birthday in 2002 I started playing around on eBay, buying and selling coins to better off our collection, one day he picks up a platinum 1998 1/10th coin and says, dad, cool dime

why dont you see these around?

I'm like son this is a platinum 1998 10th ounce ( I paid $550) on ebay to complete my first 10th ounce platinum set.

I ask him would you like have this set we can build the complete run, not knowing what we already had, I noticed we had a contending #1 set in 2002, I told my son we'll be #1 in all denomiantions x15 by your 15th birthday without fail.

He smiled and said let's go for it, never in my wildest imagination I expected to be a full time coin dealer and a full time tropical fish dealer in 2001.

But, hey things happen for a reason, now every time someone asks about platinum coinage they alway come to me, or my name is always associated with platinum coins no matter who it is.

2 years later, we have the single largest Platinum collection on the face of the planet, 16 PCGS awards for platinum, not to mention turned this hobby, into a multimillion dollar a year business.