Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1883 Liberty Dime - No Reverse? Pic included..

I am no expert here so I need your help. I bought this coin for $2 bucks at a coin shop today for the reason that you see in the pic. So, 2 questions for a newbie,

1. What is the cause of that?

2. Is this a normal thing or pretty rare?

Pics aren't that good but hope you get the idea.

Comments

• Options
    nOoBiEeEnOoBiEeE Posts: 1,011 ✭✭
    Geez, this thread sunk to page 2 quick...
  • Options
    That's an interesting error, but it leads me to suspect that the coin isn't genuine. I'd guess that this kind of error coin would cost more than $2, but that's all it is - a guess. Does anyone else know?
    small_d

e-mail me here

WINNER:
    POTD 8-30-05 (awarded by dthigpen)
    POTD 9-8-05 (awarded by gsaguy)
    GSAGUY Slam 12-10-04
  • Options
    ldhairldhair Posts: 7,141 ✭✭✭✭✭
    It looks like a jewelry piece. Solder of the rev?
    Larry

• Options
    Sigh... I'm afraid that I have seen something similar to this before. In my case, the coin was resting on a PVC flip for many years. I have a Small Motto 1864 2 Cent with a lovely red AU obverse and a hideously corroded reverse.

I'm not saying this is what happened to your coin, but it looks like some kind of damage to me rather than an error.
  • Options
    BarryBarry Posts: 10,100 ✭✭✭
    It appears that the reverse was ground off mechanically, and subsequently the coin was damaged further. Lots of Seated Dimes were used to make Love Tokens. For example, this one currently on Ebay (no, not mine).
  • Options
  • Options
    Conder101Conder101 Posts: 10,536
    First question that has to be answered is "What does it weigh?" My first thought is that it looks like a counterfeit.
  • Options
    lordmarcovanlordmarcovan Posts: 43,223 ✭✭✭✭✭