Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Check out this classic head large cent i just won.

Only one more hole on the first page to fill now. What does everyone think? These ones are tough to get super nice, but I'm ok with this one.Classic Head Large Cent

Comments

• Options
    I am by no means an expert on these but I think you got a good deal! The fact that it's porous does not bother me too much on the very early coppers. A classic design and what appears to be a good strike on this one.

Good find!

Mike
    Coppernicus

Lincoln Wheats (1909 - 1958) Basic Set - Always Interested in Upgrading!
  • Options
    PutTogetherPutTogether Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭
    Thank you very much
  • Options
    PlacidPlacid Posts: 11,301 ✭✭✭
    Looks a little corroded but most copper that old is. Has a good amount of detail. Probably grade vf before the net. Might be a little bent, can't tell for sure from the picture though.

• Options
    If it's bent, the seller and I are going to have a problem.
  • Options
    291fifth291fifth Posts: 24,079 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Sorry, but this coin has too much porosity for my liking. I think you should slow down your buying and go for fewer but better coins for your set. The supply of problem-free large cents dated before 1837 is very limited. The problem-free coins are what you should be targeting for aquisition.

My own feeling is that, over the next 5-20 years demand for problem coins such as yours is going to decline. This will be caused by a decline in the collector population. Some of this decline in the collector population will be the result of the aging of the group. Another factor in the decline will be the decline of the middle class. There are too many good paying jobs being either lost outright or being replaced with jobs that pay far less. The doors to cheap foreign labor have been opened and I doubt if they can be closed.

Coin collecting is going to be a hobby for the wealthy, just as it was in the 19th and early 20th century.