Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

A Newbies Question about coins & taxes

Hello to all!

Sorry for what is I'm sure a mundane question, but I am brand new at this & would consider myself a collector. I purchased some coins that are sitting in my safe. I have sold none, but then I receive this 1099-B saying that I have to report this phantom amount of "profit" or "revenue" or what ever. How is it possible to tax someone on something that he/she has not sold or realized any profit? Do strictly collectors have to do this every year, even if they never sell? Where do they get the figure? In everything else concerning investing you pay the taxes AFTER the sale or a revenue is realized. It's true of stocks. It's true of interest income. What's up with that and is there any loophole around it, or did I just misunderstand the 1099 form, although it seemed clear. Could you knowledgeable ones help?image That is for the IRS, who should be abolished--it's Boston Tea Party Time.image
Peace,

coinfool
"You broke the bonds and you loosed the chains; carried the cross of my shame, of my shame--you know I believe it..."

Comments

• Options
    Dave99BDave99B Posts: 8,356 ✭✭✭✭✭
    A 1099-B, related to coins you purchased? ..... I'm lost...

Dave
    Always looking for original, better date VF20-VF35 Barber quarters and halves, and a quality beer.
  • Options
    *looks to wingedliberty* He could probally tell you...
    -George
    42/92
  • Options
    orevilleoreville Posts: 11,780 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Someone had to issue the 1099-B to you. The issuer of the 1099-B is usually the one who bought something from you such as stock unless a broker is involved.

1099-B are issued to the seller when they sell not when they buy.

If you are dealing with commodities futures, that is another whole ballgame. It is called marked to market but is issued to commodity traders who are in the business of trading. I forget the form number offhand on that one.

A Collectors Universe poster since 1997!