Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Are you a collector or an investor? Think about it..

Ok, here is the deal. I have been calling myself a collector for many years ( 15 to be exact ), but my urge to make a quick buck has gotten much stronger each year. I started picking up several nice rookie cards and putting them away for my future kids about 10 years ago or so.

I had a nice lock box with tons of cards in screw down holders. I remember a bunch of '93-94 Hoops Draft Redemption Jamal Mashburn and Chris Weber cards, Shaq rookies, Eric Lindros '90 Score RC, a off centered John Elway RC ( maybe the best card in the box ), a '89 Score Barry Sanders, '93 Jerome Bettis RC, and a few other similiar cards.

As the years went on and I realized that these cards weren't holding their value, I went ahead and sold them for some cash in order to buy some of the newer stuff. I did this each year and it has since become a vicious cycle for me. If I had every card that crossed my hands at one time or another, I'd be pretty wealthy.

Now I find myself with better quality, and much higher valued cards because I have evolved and consolidated my collection into higher end rookies. By doing this, I also compacted my collection down to about 40-50 cards, all rookies for the most part.

I still find myself with several lots of rookies who I think will make it one day. I have no rhyme or reason why I jump all over a guy at this point, but I will say that it is not because Beckett said to. I have several autographed rookies of Nic Jackson ( Cubs ), Jorge Padilla ( Phillies ), Jesus Cota ( Diamondbacks ), and Bill Hall ( Brewers ). I can not pass up a rookie of theirs for the most part because they are usually between $1 and $5 topps. I pick up BGS 9.5's or PSA 10's for like $10-$15.