Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Buying ASA, CSA, PGS graded cards

I like to buy cards slabbed by these companies...some great deals can be had and in some cases if I think the card is graded accurately do not crossover. For instance, a low priority is to finish my 72 topps basketball set. I recently purchased some PGS 8 graded cards for 99 cents apiece. I am not a grading expert by any sense of the imagination, but I do feel these cards are graded accurately.

I believe in some cases its cheaper to buy these cards in building my sets. Are there others like me who constantly search e-bay with keywords "ASA", "CSA", "PGS", etc.

Any thoughts on ASA would be appreciated...even though they have a complex grading structure (I believe 3 tiers based on tobacco, vintage, and modern) they are somewhat accurate imo. Any comments would be appreciated.
Gold Coins
Silver Coins

e-bay ID: grilloj39
e-mail: grilloj39@gmail.com

Comments

• Options
    qualitycardsqualitycards Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭

<< <i>Are there others like me who constantly search e-bay with keywords "ASA", "CSA", "PGS", etc. >>

GRILLO - I see these grading companies slabs come up many times when I search "PSA". Many sellers spam PSA in the title of just about every grading company. Not saying your 3 that you listed are good, bad or indifferent, just that I tend to see them when I'm not looking for them...jay
  • Options
    ASA cards are usually or at least often trimmed. I suppose if you're looking for post-1960 commons, there's a decent chance that someone naively submitted to ASA for some reason, and the card is legit. Otherwise, forget it--I'm sure you don't want a trimmed card, regardlesss of price.

I bought one ASA card a few years ago-- a T206 graded ASA 8 Rube Oldring. Paid close to $200, somewhat confident that the scan looked OK, and there were several bidders, with no apparent shills. Submited it to SGC, and it came back trimmed, making me feel like the Rube.

Todd