Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Please explain the "Population" to me!

Since I am somewhat new at this whole slabbing thing, I am a little ignorant about it. I just want to find out how it is actually determined.

Is the population the total amount of a certain coin submitted, or is it the amount of certain coins submitted in the same grade?

Thanks in advance!
-David

Comments

• Options
    BochimanBochiman Posts: 25,322 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Your 2nd guess is closer.

If the population of MS67 1909 VDB (PCGS) is 17, then that means that 17 have been slabbed at PCGS in a grade of MS67.

I don't know the correct population, just using an example.

Ron

I've been told I tolerate fools poorly...that may explain things if I have a problem with you. Current ebay items - Nothing at the moment

• Options
    PlacidPlacid Posts: 11,301 ✭✭✭
    It can be either the population of the total amount of a certain coin submitted, or the amount of certain coins submitted in the same grade.
    Depends how its used.
    Some people selling on eBay will say they have a pop 1 coin but they don't mention there are coins graded higher.

• Options
    So that means that "Population Higher" only includes coins that have a higher grade?

I.e. MS69 pop 200, pop higher 100.

Is there 100 MS70's, or can that somehow include some MS69's that are just a little bit more appealing?
  • Options
    BochimanBochiman Posts: 25,322 ✭✭✭✭✭
    MS69 pop 200 100 higher means there are 100 at MS70

Pop higher does not mean same grade. That is why sometimes there are coins that are Pop 1 with 235 higher (or some number).

I've been told I tolerate fools poorly...that may explain things if I have a problem with you. Current ebay items - Nothing at the moment

• Options
    sinin1sinin1 Posts: 7,500
    aother thing sometimes done is only mention how many graded higher

THIS MS69 has only 100 graded finer by PCGS - but fails to mention there are 10,000 graded MS69