Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

What would be a good first registry set?

I've never done it before, but I like a little healthy competition. What do think would be a good set to assemble for say, $5000? Could you make it to the top five for that amount? And in what category? What about $10,000?

We ARE watching you.

Comments

• Options
    jeffnpcbjeffnpcb Posts: 1,943
    Proof or high MS roosevelt dimes! In proofs the early 67 and higher Cameos are a little stiff, but you should be able to put one together for under 5k. The high end MS with FB designation is a little more trying as prices are climbing!
    Of course all silver!
    HEAD TUCKED AND ROLLING ALONG ENJOYING THE VIEW! [Most people I know!]

NEVER LET HIPPO MOUTH OVERLOAD HUMMINGBIRD BUTT!!!

WORK HARDER!!!!
    Millions on WELFARE depend on you!
  • Options
    JohnZJohnZ Posts: 1,732
    Interesting that you should say that Jeff. I was looking at the silver roosies.

We ARE watching you.

• Options
    CladiatorCladiator Posts: 17,932 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Ike Dollars would be doable. So would Susan B. Anthony's....I know they're not as difficult to complete simply because of the few amount of coins but getting them in super high grade could be quite a challenge.
  • Options
    airplanenutairplanenut Posts: 22,022 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Registry Sets are EVIL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    JK Coin Photography - eBay Consignments | High Quality Photos | LOW Prices | 20% of Consignment Proceeds Go to Pancreatic Cancer Research
  • Options
    MrEurekaMrEureka Posts: 24,083 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Edward VII Sovereign Date Set, Circulation Strikes (1902-1910).

Nice short set, no stoppers in unc, but brutally tough to find gems. You can build a choice unc set for well under 3K. When and if you find some gems, they could be a bit pricey, but you will have no trouble staying under 10K. You will not believe how difficult it is to spend your money on these things. (That's a good thing, isn't it?)
    Andy Lustig