Home U.S. Coin Forum

Technical grade vs Market Grade

Doesnt it seem like certain coins are often graded much more leniently? For instance, it seems like gold Saints are fairly easy to get into a 65 holder, even with marks and wear that would, on a $10 Liberty or Indian for instance, get at most a 64. Granted I am relatively new to this, but, I would think that consistency would be to everyones advantage. It seems that the difficulty in achieving the next higher grade is directly dependent on how much the price goes up in that higher grade. The $5 Indians in MS64 are about 3k, while in MS65 they are 15k and from my experience and from what others have told me its really hard to get into a 65. I have seen many MS63s in $5 indians look as nice as a lot of 65 Saints. Any thoughts?

Comments

• PlacidPlacid Posts: 11,301 ✭✭✭
    Seems like a small mark on a small coin makes a lower grade than the same small mark on a larger coin.
  • LucyBopLucyBop Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭
    the bigger in size the coin, the bigger the hits will be...

a Franklin half in a ms66 will have some hits......

these same hits on a roosie will drop it to a 5 holder.......

imageBe Bop A Lula!!
    "Senorita HepKitty"
    "I want a real cool Kitty from Hepcat City, to stay in step with me" - Bill Carter
  • RussRuss Posts: 48,515 ✭✭✭
    Here's an example of market grading:

I would not have graded that coin better than MS65. PCGS graded it MS66 because it has the "look" they like - lots of luster.

Here's another example of market grading:

The coin has extensive hairlining in the left obverse field that would normally keep it from grading higher than PR64. But, it has extraordinarily deep mirrors for the issue and got a bump because the eye appeal is at the top of the scale.

Russ, NCNE
  • MetaMeta Posts: 62 ✭✭

<< <i>Seems like a small mark on a small coin makes a lower grade than the same small mark on a larger coin. >>