Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

Promoting the hobby in suttle ways: Inside the classroom

Back when I was a high school student and took German, I had a very ecclectic teacher. He was a brilliant man, yet very humble and funny. I had him for three years and always enjoyed what he had to share apart from the regular German lessons.

I was a baseball card collector at the time as well. One day, I can't remember how or why exactly, but my teacher brought up the German word for "God" which is "Gott." Maybe we saw that word in a quote or something, I really don't know right now. He was a baseball fan too and digressed for a moment bringing up the issue that there was a pitcher in the MLB by that name: Jim Gott. It then dawned on him that there was also a Tim Teufel in MLB. He said that "Teufel" means devil in German. He then put two and two together and mentioned what cosmic implications would it have if Jim Gott pitched against Tim Teufel. That stuck with me. I was curious to see if their respective teams even played against eachother. Months later, while flipping channels, I saw Jim Gott pitching against.....you guessed it, Tim Teufel. I watched to see what would happen so I could share it in class the next day. Sure enough, Jim Gott won the battle.

The next day, I brought up the issue in class and my teacher kind of smiled. It made for a good welcome side track in class. On another occasion, I digged through my 1986 Topps collection to pull out both players and brought them to class the next day. Again, the teacher allowed for a moment to share. Not only did the students not forget the two words they learned they also were curious about the baseball cards and that ensued a discussion in German about the hobby. It was a good way to promote baseball cards and keep the class exposed to learning German. I allowed my teacher to keep both cards so he could use them in the future.